Skip to main content
Matrix42 Self-Service Help Center

Settings for License Management

Overview

Click Settings navigation item in the Licenses application to view and edit current system settings.

General Information

Automatic change of license model with downgrades

Select the checkbox if the system should assign a downgradeable license to a license requirement when their original license models do not match. In this case the license model of a license requirement will be changed to correspond to the license model of the downgradeable license.

Enable License Requirement Confirmation Mode 

The enabled license requirement confirmation mode helps organizations identify the presence of unauthorized software or adjust the license model of automatically created license requirements prior to entitlement. This allows those responsible for licenses to react quickly and reduce the number of licenses if necessary. The confirmation mode is normally activated; however, the system administrator can deactivate it. 

  • If enabled: License requirement records that are created automatically (for example, from AD group memberships, computer inventory, etc.) should be explicitly confirmed. However, the system can apply confirmation automatically for software products where Confirmation Mode is set to automatic. For software products that are linked to a catalog service, confirmation of license requirements occurs automatically based on the approved service bookings.
  • If disabled: License requirements that are created automatically do not need explicit confirmation. They are already implicitly confirmed when created.

Delete Records of Removed Local Installation (after Days)

Number of days after expiration of the Minimum Period of Entitlement (defined in the corresponding software product) when a license requirement is removed after all technical foundations have been removed. Please note that this period starts only after the Minimum Period of Entitlement has elapsed.

Delete Application Usage Data (after Days)

Number of days after expiration of Minimum Period of Entitlement (defined in the corresponding software product) when the remote access/local usage record is deleted from the system. Please note that this period starts after the Minimum Period of Entitlement has elapsed.

In case of local installations, the usage data is deleted only if the installation record does not exist anymore.

Asset Status Values Relevant for License Compliance

Select the status values that will be considered for license requirements. If another status value is assigned to an asset, it will not be accounted for license compliance anymore and all license requirements will be removed.

Complex System Status Values Relevant for License Compliance

Select the status values that will be considered for license requirements. If another status value is assigned to a complex system, it will not be accounted for license compliance anymore and all license requirements will be removed

Person Status Values Relevant for License Compliance

Select the status values that will be considered for license requirements. If another status value is assigned to a person, he/she will not be accounted for license compliance anymore and all license requirements will be removed.

Software Product Status Values Relevant for License Compliance

Select the status values that will be considered for creation of license requirements. If another status value is assigned to a software product, it will not be accounted for license compliance anymore. This means, no license requirements will be created and all existing license requirements will be removed.

Please not that changing this setting requires execution of engine activation "License Management - Batch Processing" to create or remove license requirements.

Embedded links in e-mails

Depending on your selection, links in all pre-defined e-mails sent from compliance rules in the system will open either Classic UI or UUX.

This setting does not influence any mails that have been added from administrator to the system. It has effect only on mail templates shipped with the standard product.

LIS Update

Enable automatic synchronization with LIS templates for all software products

Defines, if the system always synchronizes software products with the updated LIS templates, regardless of the particular setting with each software product.

  • if enabled: Synchronization occurs automatically for every software product.
  • If disabled: Synchronization occurs either automatically or manually as defined for every single software product.  

We do not recommend to enable this setting. This may lead to unforeseen, unsolicited changes with software products where compliance configuration was adjusted according to individually applicable licensing terms or contractual implications. 

Upload licenses with SKU, but without an assigned software product

During the LIS update, the currently unclassified license information (only SKU and description) is uploaded to the LIS master server. Do not select this checkbox if you want to prevent unclassified license information from being uploaded.

Upload unclassified fingerprints

During the LIS update, the currently unclassified fingerprints are uploaded to the LIS master server. Do not select this checkbox if you want to prevent unclassified fingerprints from being uploaded.

Send Fingerprints of the Following Detection Types Only

During the LIS update, the currently unclassified fingerprints are uploaded to the LIS master server. In this drop-down list, you can select the detection types to be uploaded. Please do not change this setting without an appropriate reason.

Remote Application Usage Tracking

Tracking Agent

This description applies to product version 9.1.1 and higher only. Configuration for earlier product versions are described here.

Enable remote usage tracking

Select the checkbox to activate remote usage tracking. This setting allows to check how applications are accessed and used on application hosts (i.e. computers in the network that provide application services to end users).

For detailed information on configuring remote usage tracking, refer to Remote Usage Licensing.

Application Service URL

If you enter the URL and leave the Use network sharing folder checkbox empty, the HTTP/HTTPS communication will be used to exchange data between the tracking agent and the server. The service URL should have the following format: https://SERVER/M42Services/LVCRemoteUsageService.svc where SERVER is a fully qualified domain name of Matrix42 Software Asset & Service Management server.

Use network sharing folder

Select the checkbox if file exchange via network share should be used for agent/server communication.

Config Folder Path

Enter the path to a folder with the tracking configuration file. This file is generated automatically by the License Management - Remote Usage Configuration engine activation after all required settings have been saved. The path should have the following format: \\SERVER\RemoteUsages\Config where SERVER is a fully qualified domain name of Matrix42 Software Asset & Service Management server.

Target Folder Path

Enter the path to a folder where the tracking agent will save remote usage files. The path should have the following format: \\SERVER\RemoteUsages\Inbox where SERVER is a fully qualified domain name of Matrix42 Software Asset & Service Management server.

Limited Computer List (comma separated)

Specify a list of computers to be monitored by entering hostnames. If the field is empty, all computers in the system will be tracked for remote usage.

Use process credentials

This checkbox should be selected if you wish to use the implicit authentication. In this case the account used to run the tracking agent will also be used to access the Matrix42 Software Asset & Service Management server. Using this setting is preferred. Please note that this account should be registered in the system.

User Account, Password, and Domain

Specify credentials for the explicit authentication. These fields are editable if the Use process credentials checkbox is cleared.

Scan Interval (min)

This setting determines how often computers are scanned for running processes.

Config Reload Interval (min)

This setting determines how often the tracking agent will check for updates in the configuration file.

Report Interval (min)

This setting determines how often the tracking agent will send remote usage files to the server.

Local Network

IP Ranges for Local Network

Use the Plus button to enter IP ranges for the local network. This setting applies to licensing configuration in case of remote access