Skip to main content
Matrix42 Self-Service Help Center

Merging Incidents

If two or more tickets have been created for a single incident, you can close or pause all duplicates. The incident then continues to run on the main ticket.

  1. Go to Matrix42 Software Asset and Service Management > Service Desk application.
  2. In the navigation area, click Incidents.
  3. If the required configuration item is not in the selection list, enter a search term under the search criteria and click Search.
  4. In the selection list, click the incidents that are duplicates.
  5. In the action pane, click Merge to open the input wizard.
  6. Select the incident that you want to retain.
  7. For a Closed incident, select one of the following options:
    • Take over the category and the responsible role of the remaining incident to the merged incidents: Copy information about the category and responsible role of the original incident to the merged incidents.
    • Take over the SLA of the remaining incident to the merged incidents: Copy information about the SLA of the original incident to the merged incidents.
    • Close obsolete incidents with reason: Ticket duplicates are closed. The customer is informed by email that the reported incident has been merged with the main ticket. From the provided drop-down list, select the reason for closing the ticket duplicates. The default reason is Duplicate.
    • Take over the solution of the remaining incident to the merged incidents: Copy information about the solution of the original incident to the merged incidents.
  8. For an incident that is NOT closed, select one of the following options:
    • Take over the category and the responsible role of the remaining incident to the merged incidents: Copy information about the category and responsible role of the original incident to the merged incidents.
    • Take over the SLA of the remaining incident to the merged incidents: Copy information about the SLA of the original incident to the merged incidents.
    • Close obsolete incidents with reason: Ticket duplicates are closed. The customer is informed by email that the reported incident has been merged with the main ticket. From the provided drop-down list, select the reason for closing the ticket duplicates. The default reason is Duplicate.
    • Pause obsolete incidents with reason: Ticket duplicates are paused. They are not closed until the main ticket is closed. The customer is informed by email that the reported incident has been merged with the main ticket. From the provided drop-down list, select the reason for closing the ticket duplicates. The default reason is Waiting for Parent Ticket.
    • Set reminder: Select the date when the reminder about the paused ticket duplicates should be sent. This field becomes active only if you select the Pause obsolete incidents with reason option.
    • Copy journal entries of obsolete incidents to the remaining incident: Select this option to copy journal entries with the corresponding information to the remaining incident.
    • Copy attachments of obsolete incidents to the remaining incident: Select this option to copy attachments with the corresponding information to the remaining incident.
  9. Click SUMMARY >> to display a summary of the merge action.
  10. Click MERGE.
  • Was this article helpful?