Skip to main content
Matrix42 Self-Service Help Center

User roles and permissions: Security Management in UUX

Overview

Matrix42 security settings define access to applications and data by specifying who can preview, edit, create and delete data within the specified user role and its specific permissions.

Matrix42 security is managed from the Administration application → Security → User roles page.

Matrix42 platform provides a set of default user roles with pre-configured access to the standard content, actions and search areas of all out of the box Matrix42 applications.

All default roles are listed on the User roles page:

default_user_roles1.png

Default user roles:

  • are provided out of the box;
  • cannot be deleted;
  • have pre-defined permissions;
  • can be edited.

Managing roles and permissions

All settings in the Administration workspace should be configured with great care and by experts only. Otherwise, functional restrictions of Matrix42 Workspace Management may occur.

Before setting up new user role or managing the default settings it's best to fully understand how User Roles and Set Permissions work and which core concepts are standing behind.

Basic approach 

Different roles imply different level of access to the data so that a user can have full access to one area of the application data and be just a viewer of another.

Set Permissions for a User Role allows:

  1. selecting Configuration Item which represents the accessed by the user data;
  2. previewing types of permissions available for each Configuration Item;
  3. applying specific settings for each type of permissions;
  4. additionally restricting data access for selected divisions of the organizational structure (Organizational Units, Locations, and Cost Centers):

test_role_permissions2.png

Each stage of the User Role Permissions settings is described in detail below.

Configuration Items

User Role permissions define which operations can be performed with the Configuration Item's data.

Use search at the top to easily locate the Configuration Items you need.

Permission types

Each role has individual access to the application's data. This access is managed by restricting permissions which are split by type of  basic functions performed upon the data, also referred to as CRUD operations:

  • read: defines whether the data of a specified application area is visible to users in general. This option means that it is possible to create a role that is allowed to edit or delete entries, but since the read permission is not enabled users cannot preview the Configuration Item data and, effectively, are not able to do anything with it. Configuration Item data objects with disabled read permission are hidden in the corresponding application. 
  • write: defines whether the user role can edit and modify the Configuration Item data. A user who cannot change the Configuration Item data might still be able to preview it in a read-only mode if appropriate permission is set;
  • create: allows users creating new data objects within a specified Configuration Item;
  • delete: allows to remove existing data objects;
  • full access: allows managing complete access to the data of a specific Configuration Item data by setting permissions to all CRUD operations at once.

Permission settings

Every permission which is not explicitly allowed is denied.

For instance, entries editing is enabled, but reading is not allowed. In this case, the user won't be able to open the entries. Such an approach might seem inconsistent, but it actually prevents unsolicited access to the data which is not intended for the considered user role. 

Permission settings are managed by the Set Permissions action and  have the following options for specified Configuration Item:

  • clipboard_e4b7fe74de64fb11580ca13ebabc3b0a6.png not set: a default option implies that the access is implicitly denied
  • clipboard_e2773a6b96c3d89cf5685167a69d5fbd4.png allowed: click the default checkbox once to explicitly grant access;
  • clipboard_e5a573dede04cbc7f71370af12f31fcd5.png denied: click one more time to revoke the permission and change the allowed setting to a cross icon, stating that the access is explicitly denied.

Not set and denied options may seem confusing as they both are intended to deny access, although they are necessary for managing overlapping permission settings, as the user can belong to more than one user role. In this case, the permissions of the individual roles, either standard or manually created, are accumulated and calculated according to the priorities as mentioned here.

Organizational structure

By default, all standard and new user roles are applied for all divisions of the organizational structure represented in the application.

User role settings allow fine-tuning and restricting assigned permissions to specific divisions and sub-divisions of the organizational structure, among them:

To avoid performance issues tend to apply restrictions to only one type of organizational structure division in one user role: either Organizational Units, Locations or Cost Centers.

To apply permissions for specific divisions of the organizational structure on the Set Permissions configuration page:

  1. Clear the checkmark of the necessary organizational structure type, for example, of an Organizational Unit:
    user_role_org_structure1.png
  2. Proceed to specific Organizational Units;
  3. Add necessary Organizational Units:
    user_role_org_structure2.png
  4. Use the search icon to browse the list of Organizational Units available in the system:
    user_role_org_structure3.png
  5. Configure Inherit checkbox option:
  • select the checkbox to apply permission setting for the selected Organizational Unit and all its sub-divisions (Organizational Units may have a tree structure so that specified permissions will be applied to the current Organizational Unit and all its child items);
  • clear the checkbox (default) to apply permissions only to specified Organizational Unit.

Add as many Organizational Units as necessary for the edited user role and proceed according to suggested options.

The same flow is applied for Locations and Cost Centers.

Default permissions

Every new user added to the application is automatically assigned a default user role "Everyone".

"Everyone" user role is assigned implicitly so that the featured permissions cannot be revoked. In other words, this user role has pre-configured default permissions providing its users minimal access to the application's data management. 

Everyone user role access is rather limited. User role settings allow assigning more than one user role to the same user in order to expand access to the application data. 

Assigning user roles

Every user can be a member of more than one user role. 

To assign a user role:

  • User role settings:  in Administration application → Security → User roles list  click edit user role and add necessary users via Members tab;
  • Persons: user roles are also assigned to the users represented in the Master data application as Persons.

Overlapping permissions

Every user can be a member of more than one role, therefore the permissions of the individual roles are accumulated and only one permission settings option is applied for each permission type. Let us examine it in more detail.

User roles assigned a specific user may have contradictory overlapping permission settings for the same Configuration Item data, for instance:

 

User role

 

Configuration Item

Read 

data operation

User Role A

  Announcement

SVMAnnouncementType

clipboard_e5a573dede04cbc7f71370af12f31fcd5.png denied

(explicitly denied)

User Role B

  Announcement

SVMAnnouncementType

clipboard_e2773a6b96c3d89cf5685167a69d5fbd4.png allowed

(explicitly granted)

User Role C 

  Announcement

SVMAnnouncementType

clipboard_e4b7fe74de64fb11580ca13ebabc3b0a6.png not set

(implicitly denied)

Overlapping permission settings are accumulated and calculated according to the following priority:

  1.  clipboard_e5a573dede04cbc7f71370af12f31fcd5.pngexplicitly denied: has the highest priority among all 3 permission settings options and revokes the user access to the data operation for the specified Configuration Item;
  2. clipboard_e2773a6b96c3d89cf5685167a69d5fbd4.png explicitly allowed: access to the Configuration Item's data management is explicitly allowed. This option is applied if the explicitly denied setting for the current data operation of the specific Configuration Item is not represented  in any of the assigned to the user roles;
  3. clipboard_e4b7fe74de64fb11580ca13ebabc3b0a6.png not set: access to the Configuration Item's data management is implicitly denied if no other option with higher priority is set in other assigned to the user roles.