Home > Matrix42 Compliance > Software Asset Management Guide > License Management > Reference for License Management > Settings for License Management

Settings for License Management

28 Nov 2017Last updated
0votes
7updates
45views

Overview

Click Settings navigation item in the Licenses application to view and edit current system settings.

General Information

  • Automatic change of license model with downgrades: Select the checkbox if the system should assign a downgradeable license to a license requirement when their original license models do not match. In this case the license model of a license requirement will be changed to correspond to the license model of the downgradeable license.
  • Enable license requirement confirmation mode: The enabled license requirement confirmation mode helps organizations identify the presence of unauthorized software. This allows those responsible for licenses to react quickly and reduce the number of licenses if necessary. The confirmation mode is normally activated; however, the system administrator can deactivate it.
    If enabled: License requirement records that are created automatically (for example, from AD group memberships, computer inventory, etc.) should be explicitly confirmed. However, the system can apply confirmation automatically for software products where Confirmation Mode is set to automatic. For software products that are linked to a catalog service, confirmation of license requirements occurs automatically based on the approved service bookings.
    If disabled: License requirements that are created automatically do not need explicit confirmation. They are already implicitly confirmed when created.
  • Delete Records of Removed Local Installation (after Days): Number of days after expiration of the Minimum Period of Entitlement (of a software product) when the record of the removed local installation will be deleted from the system. Please note that this period starts only after the Minimum Period of Entitlement has elapsed.
  • Delete Application Usage Data (after Days): Number of days after expiration of Minimum Period of Entitlement (of a software product) when the remote access/local usage record is deleted from the system. Please note that this period starts after the Minimum Period of Entitlement has elapsed. In case of local installations, the usage data is deleted only if the installation record does not exist anymore.
  • Asset Status Values Relevant for License Compliance: Select the statuses that will be considered when determining relevance for license compliance. If another status is assigned to an asset, this asset will not be accounted for license compliance.
  • Complex System Status Values Relevant for License Compliance: Select the statuses that will be considered when determining relevance for license compliance. If another status is assigned to a complex system, this complex system will not be accounted for license compliance.

LIS Update

  • Enable automatic synchronization with LIS templates for all software products: The system synchronizes software products with the updated LIS templates. By using this option, system administrators can automate the synchronization with the updated LIS templates for all software products. As a rule, synchronization occurs either automatically or manually as defined for every single software product. By default it is automatic, but should be set to manual while it is under active compliance management to avoid unpredicted and unsolicited changes. For this reason, use this setting carefully. We recommend that you enable it for specific purposes only.
  • Upload licenses with SKU, but without an assigned software product: During the LIS update, the currently unclassified license information (only SKU and description) is uploaded to the LIS master server. Do not select this checkbox if you want to prevent unclassified license information from being uploaded.
  • Upload unclassified fingerprints: During the LIS update, the currently unclassified fingerprints are uploaded to the LIS master server. Do not select this checkbox if you want to prevent unclassified fingerprints from being uploaded.
  • Send Fingerprints of the Following Detection Types Only: During the LIS update, the currently unclassified fingerprints are uploaded to the LIS master server. In this drop-down list, you can select the detection types to be uploaded. Please do not change this setting without an appropriate reason.

Local Network

  • Local Network: Use the Plus button to enter IP ranges for the local network.
You must to post a comment.
Last modified

Tags

Classifications

(not set)
Customer
Checked
icons-access-c.png